top of page

Under Charged - Over Served

A chicken sandwich with vegetables.

Stopped by a restaurant yesterday to pick up some lunch and asked for extra meat. The cashier rang me in and said it would be ready in a moment. Shortly after the lady gestured toward me so I would come up to the counter. She didn't have my sandwich with her and the look on her face suggested she may have a question for me.


The manager was with her and as I approached the manager asked, "what did you order?". I repeated my order as the manager studied a receipt.

"Ahh, I see, the cashier rang it in wrong."

"Should I ring him in again?"

"No that's fine, don't want to hold him up any longer and it's an easy thing to miss when we are busy like that, no big deal."

(3 minutes go by)

"Here we go, here is you sandwich sir, sorry about wait and confusion, hope you have a nice day."


At this point I still didn't know what the issue had been but as I walked away I checked the receipt to see what the mix up had been. Seems the cashier had forgotten to charge me for the extra meat. The manager, or cashier, could have easily rang my order in again so I would pay the amount they owed, and the manager could have blamed the cashier for the mistake in front of me. But none of that happened.


I left a satisfied customer, and the cashier continued her shift without feeling down.


It's nice when you pay less than expected and the level of service is more than expected.

bottom of page